Back to All Events

Audrey Vardanega and Kenneth Renshaw in Concert at The Hillside Club

  • The Hillside Club 2286 Cedar St Berkeley, CA 94709 (map)

In his Violin Sonata No.1 in G Major, Brahms showcases the combined power of the violin and the piano through the demanding virtuosityand the intense lyricism in both instrumental parts. The sonata form coupled with the interaction and unification between violin and piano contain Brahms' relentless search for respite within his multifaceted, deeply varied emotional life. 

Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 31 in Ab major, composed in 1821 at the same time he was working on his Missa Solemnis and Ninth Symphony, is an exquisite piece of music. It starts in a quiet, contemplative mood and moves, with remarkably creative and subtle harmonic complexity, through to a joyous conclusion.

Kenneth Renshaw and Audrey Vardanega began playing together when they were middle-schoolers at The Crowden School in Berkeley. Since then, Renshaw and Vardanega have performed to critical acclaim in venues all over the world such as the Louvre Museum in Paris, Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall, the Menuhin Festival Gstaad, and the Hangzhou Grand Theater. They have each studied and collaborated in performance with some of the world’s foremost musicians including violinists Itzhak Perlman and Pamela Frank, pianists Seymour Lipkin and Richard Goode, and violist Kim Kashkashian.


Earlier Event: June 10
The Complete Brahms Violin Sonatas
Later Event: July 6
Music@Mimoda: Audrey Vardanega